Steamed Chocolate Banana Bread

image

With soaring temperatures, we avoid cooking indoors whenever possible. This essentially means no baking in the oven for the summer! As an alternative, I decided to get my “baked” goods fix through steaming (on our grill’s side burner) instead.

Since bananas are always plentiful in our home, there would always be ripe bananas waiting to be made into banana bread. Will our favorite banana bread recipe work using this method? Not surprisingly, yes! The bread turned out soft, moist, with a slight chew typical of steamed breads, and equally as delicious as its baked counterpart. :) Enjoy!

Recipe can be found in a previously published post – Chocolate-Cherry Banana Bread. To steam: bring water in your steamer to a boil over high heat. Prep the pans (due to the size of my steamer, I ended up using two 8-inch round pans) – spray with PAM, line bottom with parchment, and spray the whole pan with PAM again. Once batter is ready, pour into pans and place them in the steamer. Reduce heat to medium, and steam for about 35 to 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove pans to a cooling rack and cool breads in the pans completely. Cut into wedges and store in an airtight container.

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in Eggs and Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steamed Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Nasifriet says:

    I love your steamer. Chris!! Wish I have space in my kitchen to store all my kitchen gadgets. Not that I have lots. The ones I used often are within reach whilst the once-in-the-moon ones are tucked neatly in their original boxes. And well hidden in the basement…LOL!

    Like you, we have lots of ripe bananas in the house. I’ve often wondered why this dessert is called Banana bread and not banana cake? My perception of a bread is a bread, not sweet… If you know what I mean 😜. Love your steamed banana bread-cake.. Ha ha ha

    • Chris says:

      Believe me, Keith and I constantly rack our brains trying to figure out where to store things in our tiny kitchen. I can see the confusion about the name in general but at the same time, I tend to think of cakes as having a more tender and lighter texture. :)

Leave a Reply

